Holiday Calendar

NOTE: Each holiday begins and ends at sundown on the days listed.

SECULAR YEAR

JEWISH YEAR

Chanukah
Commemorates the rededication of the Temple in Jerusalem

Begins sunset
Saturday, December 24th, 2016

Ends nightfall Monday, December 31st, 2016

Chanukah Party: Tuesday December 27, 2016 @ 6pm

(Latkes and Sufganiot)

5777

Tu B'Shevat
New Year for the Trees

Begins Fri. February 10, 2017

Seder (instead of Shabbat services): Fri. Feb. 10, 2017 @ 7PM
(Dessert style - nuts & fruit; coffee)

5777

Purim
Celebrates the deliverance of the Jewish people from the wicked Haman in the days of Queen Esther of Persia

Begins sunset Sat. March 11, 2017

Service: Sat. March 11, 2017 @ 7PM Megilla & party with costumes – (ice cream)

5777

Passover/Pesach
Celebrates the deliverance of the Jewish people from slavery in Egypt

Yizkor Service

Begins sunset Mon. April 10, 2017

Seder: Mon. April 10, 2017 @ 6PM


Service:Tues. April 18, 2017 @ 10AM 

5777

Yom HaShoah
Holocaust Remembrance Day

Begins sunset Sun. April 23, 2017

5777

Yom HaZikaron
Israel Memorial Day

Yom HaAtzma’ut
Israel Independence Day

Begins sunset of Sun. April 30, 2017

Begins sunset Mon. May 1, 2017

5777

Lag B'Omer
The birthday of Jewish mysticism

Begins sunset Sat. May 13, 2017

5777

Shavuot
The giving of the Torah on Mt. Sinai

Yizkor Service


Minyan

Begins sunset Tues. May 30, 2017 ends Thurs., June 1, 2017

Service (reform): Tuesday, May 30, 2017 @ 7PM
(Blintzes to follow)

Service (traditional): Wed. May 31, 2017 @ 10AM
(Blintzes to follow)

Fast of Tish'a B'Av
Time of mourning over the destruction of the Holy Temple

Begins sunset Mon. July 31, 2017

Service: Mon. July 31, 2017 @ 7PM

5777

S'lichot Service

Service: Sat. Sept. 16, 2017  @ 7PM

5777

Rosh Hashanah       
The Jewish New Year

Begins sunset Wed. Sept. 20, 2017      1st Day Service: Wed. Sept. 20, 2017 @ 7PM

Morning Service: Thurs. Sept, 21 @ 9AM; Torah Service @ 10AM; Aleinu & Kaddish @ 11AM;
(Dairy luncheon after services)

2d Day Morning Service: Friday,
Sept. 22, 2016 @ 10AM

5778

Yom Kippur  
The Day of Atonement

Begins sunset Fri. Sept. 29, 2017    
Kol Nidre Service: Fri. Sept. 29 @ 7PM

Morning Service: Sat. Sept. 30 @ 9AM; Torah Service @ 10AM;  
Aleinu & Kaddish @ 11AM; Yizkor

5PM Service: Mincha, N’eila & Havdalah
(Dairy break-the-fast after services)

5778

Sukkot
The festival of booths

Begins sunset Wed. Oct. 4, 2017

Service: Wed. Oct. 4, 2017 @ 7PM     

5778

Shimini Atzeret
(Dance with Torah-Hakafot)
Simchat Torah  & Yizkor Service

Begins sunset Wed. Oct. 11, 2017  

Combined Service: Wed., Oct. 11, 2017 @ 7PM

Chanukah
Commemorates the rededication of the Temple in Jerusalem

Begins sunset Tues. Dec. 12, 2017
Ends nightfall Wed. Dec. 20, 2017

Chanukah party (instead of Shabbat services): Fri. Dec. 16, 2017 @ 6PM
(Latkes and Sufganiot)

5778



 
 
1001 E. New York Avenue DeLand, FL 32724386-736-1646
Board's Corner

© 2011- Temple Israel of DeLand   |   Website Design & Hosting by Tinker Graphics   |   Contact